Course is currently Open

29.10.2018 15:10

  • newsthumbnail
    Hole in One
  • newsthumbnail
    Durham County Ladies Thomlinson Cups Win

Club News

  • 2018-11-20
  • 2018-11-21
  • 2018-11-22
  • 2018-11-23
  • Our History - Ladies Trophies


    Much of the history of a golf club is reflected in the competition trophies and Brancepeth is fortunate in having an extensive collection at various stages of the Club’s history. In the case of the oldest trophies, it has not always been possible to obtain full information on the donors and some existing members who have recently given trophies have indicated that they do not wish to be the subject of detailed notes.


    This cup was presented by Mr Henry Barrie and family in memory of Anne, who died in August 2006.

    Anne had dedicated a great deal of her time to the Ladies Section both as secretary and as a committee member. She was also involved in golf administration at County level. She was very keen to encourage junior girls with their game.

    The Cup is played for in conjunction with a Medal in August, the time of her birthday.

    Anne Barrie Cup Past Winners      


    Mrs D Wallace donated this silver cup in 1994. The Autumn Foursomes Cup is the only foursome competition the ladies section stages, and Doreen specifically wanted it to be held at week-ends to allow working ladies to take part. It is played in conjunction with the Daily Mail Foursomes.

    Autumn Foursomes Cup Past Winners      


    The Calcutta Cup is a silver cup presented in 1971 by Mrs J Peele. This competition is a match play knock-out played between April and September. Eligible players are those with handicaps below 30. Mrs Peele was a member of the Saddler family, an eminent County family who lived at Oswald House.

    Ladies with handicaps between 30 - 45 are eligible to play for the 30 Plus Calcutta Cup, presented by Mrs A B Peacock whose husband stood in as club secretary for a while in the early sixties. The competition is the same format as the Calcutta Cup.

    Calcutta Cup Past Winners

    30 Plus Calcutta Cup Past Winners


    Obviously, the major competition the ladies play in, the Club Championship is awarded to the player returning the best score over a 36 hole scratch medal play competition. Mrs Morritt purchased this silver cup in 1935 from club funds, with the ladies and gentlemen both subscribing £4.5s.

    The ladies section, to encourage ladies with handicaps of 20 or more to enter the club championship and play the long course, purchased the silver cup for the 36 hole bronze competition in 1991. Since 2010, this trophy is now played over the short course.

    Mrs D Anson and Mrs E Gibson bought the Anson/Gibson Trophy also in 1991 and it is awarded to the silver or bronze player returning the best net score over the 36 hole long course.

    In 2011, when she was Lady Captain, Linda Larnach presented a trophy which is awarded to the player in the Bronze Division recording the best nett score over the 36 hole short course on Club Championship day. The trophy is in the shape of a cocktail glass.

    Many would say, everyone completing 36 holes on the same day at Brancepeth Castle should be rewarded!

    Club Championship Past Winners

    Anson / Gibson Trophy Past Winners

    Bronze Championship (Gross) Past Winners

    Bronze Championship (Nett) Past Winners


    These trophies, both silver cups, are played at the same time under stableford conditions. The Diamond Anniversary is the only other competition, apart from the Club Championship, played over the long course. Players with handicaps of 0-29 are eligible. The 30 Plus Cup is open to ladies with handicaps of 30 or more and to any ladies who have not yet gained a handicap.

    Diamond Anniversary Cup Past Winners

    30 Plus Cup Past Winners


    A fairly recent cup, presented by Mr D Lister in 1997 in memory of his wife Doris, a former member who took up the game in her later years. Played under stableford conditions, this competition is held early in August to mark the occasion of Doris’ birthday.

    Doris Lister Cup Past Winners


    A silver cup is awarded to winners of the only greensome competition the ladies have. Presented by Mrs E Hudspeth, ladies captain in 1987, the winning pair in this stroke play competition are doubly lucky because every year Eve very kindly donated two gift vouchers as well.

    Greensome Cup Past Winners


    The Handicap Cup is a silver cup purchased by the ladies committee in 1966 and played for under medal play conditions.

    Handicap Cup Past Winners


    This silver trophy is rather unusual in that it takes the form of a spire. Played for under stableford conditions, it was presented by Mrs J Tully who captained the ladies section in 1974, coinciding with the Club's 50th Anniversary.

    Jubilee Cup Past Winners


    This trophy, in the form of a bronze statue of a lady golfer, is played for on Lady Captain's Day. It is awarded to the player with the best nett score over 18 holes, the competition format being chosen by that year's Lady Captain.

    Lady Captain's Prize Past Winners


    This trophy is a silver salver purchased in 1984 by the ladies’ section for medal play competition with only those ladies who have won a medal during the season being eligible.

    Medal Winners Salver Past Winners


    Mrs Morritt, the wife of Major Morritt who is discussed in more detail in the men’s section, presented this silver trophy in 1935. It is played for under medal play conditions.

    Morritt Trophy Past Winners


    Mrs N Smith presented the N.E.G. Trophy (North East Granite) in 1986 when she captained the section. Played for under medal play conditions and held on the Tuesday nearest the 9th of December to mark the anniversary of the ladies section in 1925. Afterwards, the ladies enjoy a Christmas tea, an ideal way to close a busy, competitive season.

    N.E.G. Trophy Past Winners


    Olive Gray Memorial Trophy Past Winners


    Played for under medal play conditions, this cup was purchased by Mrs E Gibson in 1991. All members who have previously captained the ladies section are eligible. The present captain is also invited to play but cannot win the cup.

    Past Captain's Cup Past Winners


    The Spring Meeting is traditionally a competition where ladies gather to welcome spring and the coming season. Several ladies hibernate during the cold, dark days of winter and this is an ideal opportunity to meet again. The competition is played in conjunction with a medal; the winner is awarded a wooden bowl carved by Mr Russell Proudfoot from a diseased Dutch elm tree, from the 9th. Mr Proudfoot was a member of Brancepeth for more than twenty years but was known as a social, rather than competitive golfer.

    The ladies really make a day of it by following the morning singles with a nine hole foursomes in the afternoon.

    Spring Meeting Past Winners


    Sybil Stoddart Charity Bowl Past Winners


    Mr J T Todd presented the Thorman Bowl in 1974. At that time, he was Chairman of the Club and the donation of this silver bowl coincided with the Club’s 50th Anniversary. Originally it was played at the same time as the Larnach Cup for men. “Thorman” was Mr Todd’s middle name.

    Thorman Bowl Past Winners


    Every year, the Past Captain organises a ladies outing to a course of her choice. The Quaich Cup, presented by Mrs Sheila Craggs in 1995, is awarded to the winner of this stableford competition.

    Quaich Cup Past Winners

Brancepeth Castle Golf Club , The Club House, Brancepeth, Durham, DH7 8EA
Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Cookies
Provided by Club Systems Int Ltd
Powered by
Telephone: 0191 378 0075
Copyright© 2018, Brancepeth Castle Golf Club . All Rights Reserved |