Course is currently Open

Stimp 9

11.08.2017 13:50

  • 2017-08-16
  • 2017-08-17
  • 2017-08-18
  • 2017-08-19
  • QUESTIONS ON THE RULES OF GOLF

  • How well do you know the Rules of Golf? Give your decision on these incidents below:


  • Question 14

    Question 14 Bill replaced his ball on the putting green but did not remove his ball marker from behind the ball. Subsequently a gust of wind moved his ball into a new position. What is the ruling?

    1. The ball must be replaced with no penalty.
    2. The ball must be played as it lies with no penalty.
    3. The ball must be replaced and Bill incurs a one stroke penalty.

    Answer


  • Question 13

    Question 13 Jim hit his ball into heavy rough so he and a few others started searching for the ball. During the search, a ball spotter accidently stepped on Jim's ball and pressed it into the ground. The original lie of the ball was not known but the lie had clearly been altered. As the ball had been buried further into the ground, it was impossible to determine where it originally lay. What is the ruling?

    1. The ball must be replaced.
    2. Jim must place a ball in the nearest lie most similar to the original lie, that is not more than one club length from the original lie.
    3. Jim must drop the ball as near as possible to where it lay.

    Answer


  • Question 12

    Question 12 Phil's ball comes to rest just off the fairway. He walks up to it and sees a ball partially buried in the semi-rough so announces to his opponent his intention to identify the ball. Phil leans down and carefully rotates it, to find that it is, in fact, his ball. He then rotates it back to its original position but his opponent claims the hole. What is the ruling?

    1. Phil loses the hole.
    2. Phil incurs a one stroke penalty.
    3. There is no penalty.

    Answer


  • Question 11

    Question 10 In stroke play, Les hits his ball into a bunker that is full of leaves. When he gets to the bunker his ball cannot be seen. Les begins to probe for the ball with his club and hands but in doing this, his club touches the ground in the bunker. What is the ruling?

    1. As one act resulted in two Rules being breached, Les incurs a single penalty of two strokes.
    2. Les breached the Rules the moment his club touched the ground. He incurs a penalty of two strokes.
    3. Les incurs no penalty.

    Answer


  • Question 10

    Question 10 Jo and Kate are opponents in a match. On the 3rd green Kate, without speaking to Jo, marks and lifts her opponent's ball. Jo claims the hole. Which is true?

    1. Kate incurs a 1 stroke penalty.
    2. Kate incurs a 2 stroke penalty.
    3. Kate loses the hole.

    Answer


  • Question 9

    Question 9

    In a stroke play competition, Leo’s ball was lying badly in a bush. When deciding what to do next, his fellow competitor Ken said “You have no shot at all. If I were you, I would deem the ball unplayable.”
    What is the ruling?
    a. Information on the Rules does not constitute advice. There is no penalty to either player.
    b. As Ken’s suggestion could have influenced Leo in determining his play, Ken is penalised two strokes for giving Leo advice.
    c. If Leo proceeded to deem his ball unplayable, he incurs a two stroke penalty for receiving advice from another competitor playing on the course.

    Answer


  • Question 8

    Mark's ball comes to rest in a rut made by a greenkeeper's tractor. He thinks he may get relief from this rut but is not 100% sure, so he decides to play two balls; the first ball from where it lies and the second ball in accordance with Rule 25-1b (ground under repair). He says to his fellow competitor, Bruce, that he wants his score with the second ball to count if the Rules allow it. Mark hits his first ball from the rut and it comes to rest a foot from the hole, so he decides not to drop and play a second ball. When he returns to the clubhouse, the Committee tell him that the rut was indeed ground under repair.
    Which is the correct way to proceed?
    a. Mark's first ball was played in accordance with the Rules, therefore he was entitled to continue play with that ball and his score with that ball counts.
    b. Mark played his first ball before dropping the second ball, therefore the score with the first ball must count.
    c. Mark is disqualified for failing to hole out as the score with his second ball would have counted.

    Answer


  • Question 7

    George's ball lies near the hole in a position where it will assist Ed, whose ball lies off the putting green. George remarks that he is going to lift his ball out of the way to avoid it assisting Ed's play but Ed tells him he cannot do this. Ed then quickly chips his ball towards the hole before George has a chance to lift his ball.
    Which is the correct way to proceed?
    a. Ed was entitled to ask George not to move his ball and continue to play, as his ball was further from the hole.
    b. Ed is disqualified as he intentionally denied George's right to lift his ball.
    c. Both George and Ed are disqualified for not lifting a ball that could assist Ed.

    Answer


  • Question 6

    Len and Richard are on a putting green playing a match. Richard makes a statement that Len reasonably interprets to mean that his next stroke is conceded. Len goes ahead and lifts his ball, only for Richard to look surprised and say that he had not conceded Len's next stroke.
    Which is the correct way to proceed?
    a. As there was no concession made, Len incurs a penalty of one stroke for lifting his ball without marking its position. He must replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay.
    b. In equity, as Len mistakenly believed that his next stroke had been conceded, he should replace his ball as near as possible to where it lay, without penalty.
    c. Richard wins the hole as Len did not confirm whether a concession had been made before lifting his ball and the general penalty of loss of hole must be applied.

    Answer


  • Question 5

    Mike and Chris played a match and left the 18th green under the impression that Mike had won. They later realised that, in fact, the match was all square and they should have continued playing until one of them won a hole. They referred this matter to the Committee.
    Which is the correct way to proceed?
    a. As there was no indication that any wrong information had been given, the match stands as played with Mike the winner.
    b. The match should be ruled as all square after 18 holes. The stipulated round must be extended until one of them wins a hole.
    c. The players are disqualified, as they knew it was a breach of the Rules not to extend the stipulated round and continue playing.

    Answer


  • Question 4

    It is virtually certain that a Eddie’s tee shot is in a lateral water hazard. He uses his honest judgement to determine the point where his original ball last crossed the margin of the hazard and drops a ball within two club-lengths of that point, not nearer the hole. After playing the dropped ball, he finds the original ball outside the hazard.
    What is the ruling?
    a. He must continue play with the original ball, without penalty.
    b. He must continue play with the dropped ball, incurring only the penalty of one stroke under the Rule for a ball in a water hazard.
    c. He must return to the tee and play a ball, under penalty of stroke and distance.

    Answer


  • Question 3

    Keith hits his second shot to just short of the third green. As he is preparing to take his third shot, he makes a practice swing and accidently moves his ball
    Which is the correct way to proceed?
    a. Keith has made a stroke and is now playing his 4th shot.
    b. Keith did not intend to strike the ball so he has not made a stroke. He must replace his ball and has incurred a one shot penalty.
    c. Keith did not intend to strike the ball so he has not made a stroke. He must replace his ball and has incurred a two shot penalty.

    Answer


  • Question 2

    Steve’s ball lies on the putting green. After he has addressed the ball, an insect lands on it. Steve tries to brush the insect off his ball with his hand and in doing so causes the ball to move.
    The ball must be replaced but has Steve incurred any penalties?
    a. Yes, 1 stroke penalty under Rule 18.
    b. Yes, 2 stroke penalty under Rule 18.
    c. No.

    Answer


  • Question 1

    A player’s ball lies on the putting green. An area of casual water on the green lies on the player’s line of putt.
    What is the ruling?
    a. There is no relief without penalty. The ball must be played as it lies.
    b. The player may, without penalty, lift the ball and place it on the green in a position giving complete relief which is not nearer the hole.
    c. The player may, without penalty, lift the ball and place it at the nearest position giving complete relief which is not nearer the hole and not in a hazard. This position may be off the green.

    Answer

 
Brancepeth Castle Golf Club , The Club House, Brancepeth, Durham, DH7 8EA
Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions | Cookies
Provided by Club Systems Int Ltd
Powered by HowDidiDo.com
Telephone: 0191 378 0075
Copyright© 2017, Brancepeth Castle Golf Club . All Rights Reserved | 1.11.15.183